Lois Says

This&&That

veggie backyardagins July 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lois @ 11:25 AM

I have had more than a healthy dose of Veggie Tales and The Backyardagins these past few days. I woke up this morning with the sound of Larry the Tomato’s voice in my head.Got ready with Uniqua singing about her knight hood and galent manners. Cartoon animal ghosts floated through my head and haunted my thoughts. I found myself trying to get Janis Joplin and Jimi Hendrix songs firmly lodged in my head. I failed at these attempts. I was wrestling with the side effects of my baby sitting occupation before I had even left the house. What I experienced once I reached the home of the six-year-old was a completely different matter.

As soon as I walk in I get him started on the workbook his parents want him to do. It was not nearly as challenging today as it has been in the past to get him to sit still and concentrate on the work before him. He told time on clocks, colored little pictures, wrote letters over and over. I sat alongside him and read Native Son and emitted the occasional yawn. At one point we actually got to talking and it was going well. Then he told me I laugh too much. How could he be so….so…. temperamental. He also informed me that he doesn’t like babysitters. Apparently babby sitters are too boring. Well now I know!

 

Leave a Reply

